ESFs may be selectively activated for both Stafford Act and non-Stafford Act incidents. Not all incidents requiring Federal support result in the activation of ESFs. For Stafford Act incidents, the National Response Coordination Center (NRCC) or Regional Response Coordination Center (RRCC) may activate specific ESFs or other Federal agencies (OFAs) by directing appropriate departments and agencies to initiate the actions delineated in the ESF Annexes.

Resources coordinated though ESFs are assigned where needed within the response structure. For example, if a State requests assistance with a mass evacuation, resources from several different ESFs may be integrated into a single Branch or Group within the Operations Section. During the response, these resources would report to a supervisor within the assigned Branch or Group.

Regardless of where ESFs may be assigned, they coordinate closely with one another to accomplish their missions.

ESF #1 – Transportation
ESF Coordinator: Department of Transportation

  • Aviation/airspace management and control
  • Transportation safety
  • Restoration and recovery of transportation infrastructure
  • Movement restrictions
  • Damage and impact assessment

ESF #2 – Communications
ESF Coordinator: Department of Homeland Security (National Communications System)

  • Coordination with telecommunications and information technology industries
  • Restoration and repair of telecommunications infrastructure
  • Protection, restoration, and sustainment of national cyber and information technology resources
  • Oversight of communications within the Federal incident management and response structures

ESF #3 – Public Works and Engineering
ESF Coordinator: Department of Defense (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers)

  • Infrastructure protection and emergency repair
  • Infrastructure restoration
  • Engineering services and construction management
  • Emergency contracting support for life-saving and life-sustaining services

ESF #4 – Firefighting
ESF Coordinator: Department of Agriculture (U.S. Forest Service)

  • Coordination of Federal firefighting activities
  • Support to wildland, rural, and urban firefighting operations

ESF #5: Information and Planning
ESF Coordinator: DHS (FEMA)

  • Collects, analyzes, processes, and disseminates information about a potential or actual incident
  • Conducts planning activities

ESF #6: Mass Care, Emergency Assistance, Temporary Housing and Human Services
ESF Coordinator: Department of Homeland Security (Federal Emergency Management Agency)

  • Mass care
  • Emergency assistance
  • Disaster housing
  • Human services

ESF #7 – Logistics Management and Resource Support
ESF Coordinators: General Services Administration and Department of Homeland Security (Federal Emergency Management Agency)

  • Comprehensive, national incident logistics planning, management, and sustainment capability
  • Resource support (facility space, office equipment and supplies, contracting services, etc.)

ESF #8 – Public Health and Medical Services
ESF Coordinator: Department of Health and Human Services

  • Public health
  • Medical
  • Mental health services
  • Mass fatality management

ESF #9 – Search and Rescue
ESF Coordinator: Department of Homeland Security (Federal Emergency Management Agency)

  • Life-saving assistance
  • Search and rescue operations

ESF #10 – Oil and Hazardous Materials Response
ESF Coordinator: Environmental Protection Agency

  • Oil and hazardous materials (chemical, biological, radiological, etc.) response
  • Environmental short- and long-term cleanup

ESF #11 – Agriculture and Natural Resources
ESF Coordinator: Department of Agriculture

  • Nutrition assistance
  • Animal and plant disease and pest response
  • Food safety and security
  • Natural and cultural resources and historic properties protection
  • Safety and well-being of household pets

ESF #12 – Energy
ESF Coordinator: Department of Energy

  • Energy infrastructure assessment, repair, and restoration
  • Energy industry utilities coordination
  • Energy forecast

ESF #13 – Public Safety and Security
ESF Coordinator: Department of Justice

  • Facility and resource security
  • Security planning and technical resource assistance
  • Public safety and security support
  • Support to access, traffic, and crowd control

ESF #14: Long-Term Community Recovery
Superseded by the National Disaster Recovery Framework

Long-Term Community Recovery was superseded by the National Disaster Recovery Framework (NDRF). For guidance on long-term community recovery, please refer to the NDRF. Refer to this link for more information on ESF #14:

ESF #15 – External Affairs
ESF Coordinator: Department of Homeland Security

  • Emergency public information and protective action guidance
  • Media and community relations
  • Congressional and international affairs
  • Tribal and insular affairs